Everything you need to know about the 2024 volleyball Nations League

Everything you need to know about the 2024 volleyball Nations League
Everything you need to know about the 2024 volleyball Nations League


The 2024 Volleyball Nations League will be played from this Tuesday with 16 teams, including Argentinain the run-up to the Paris 2024 Olympic Games, the great objective of the season for all countries, although only 12 will participate, and where the national team has not yet secured its place.

The game format of the sixth edition of the VNL is similar to that of last season: the teams will face each other in a round (15 games each) and the best eight will qualify for the quarterfinals. The first stage meetings will take place over three weekends in Rio de Janeiro (Brazil), Ottawa (Canada), Antalya (Turkey), a Japanese city to be confirmed, Ljubljana (Slovenia) and Manila (Philippines). The first round of direct elimination is scheduled for June 27 and 28 while the semifinals will take place a day later. The definition will be June 30. All matches will be played in Lodz, Poland.

Poland, which has already qualified for Paris 2024, is one of the favorites for the VNL 2024 titleVNL

In addition to Argentina, Poland, Brazil, Japan, Canada, Italy, the United States and France will participate as favorites for the title. Cuba, Bulgaria, Germany, Iran, Netherlands, Slovenia, Serbia and Turkey will complete the grid of competitors.

In the 2023 edition, the albiceleste achieved its best historical performance in the VNL, where it was eliminated in the quarterfinals by Italy with a resounding 3-0 and qualified fifth. Beyond the tough defeat against the world champion, the team led by Marcelo Mendez He closed the competition with a positive result because he played 13 games with nine wins and four losses.

Week 1 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Week 2 in Ottawa, Canada

Week 3 in Ljubljana, Slovenia

The Argentine volleyball team must qualify for the Olympic Games through the FIVB world rankingFEVA

Seven teams of those that will enter the VNL have already qualified for Paris 2024: France, as host; Germany, Brazil, the United States, Japan, Poland and Canada through the three Pre-Olympics. The remaining five places will be defined through the world ranking of the International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) and Argentina seeks to access the Olympic Games through that means. He is currently sixth in the rankings, but of the teams ahead of him, only Italy is still out of the Olympic event. Behind, nearby, you have Slovenia and Serbia. In this framework, the albiceleste is very close to getting the ticket to defend the bronze medal she achieved in Tokyo 2020.

The championship has been played five times since it replaced the so-called World League in 2018 and the top winner is Russia with two stars. The European team won the first two editions, but will not participate in the current one because it continues to be banned from international tournaments by the FIVB as a result of the war conflict with Ukraine. In 2021, after a 2020 without activity due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the champion was Brazil and in 2022 France celebrated. Poland is the current winner of the competition thanks to the fact that it won the 2023 version and there are four countries that celebrated in the championship.

Poland became VNL champion for the first time in its history in the 2023 editionVNL


Get to know The Trust Project
For Latest Updates Follow us on Google News


PREV James Rodríguez makes history in the National Team: he registered an important record
NEXT one dead and one child hospitalized