Big 4 reunion! Djokovic, Nadal and Murray confirmed for Paris Olympics

Big 4 reunion! Djokovic, Nadal and Murray confirmed for Paris Olympics
Big 4 reunion! Djokovic, Nadal and Murray confirmed for Paris Olympics

Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal and Andy Murray, three of the Big 4 (Roger Federer is the fourth) were included in the list for the tennis tournament of the Paris Olympics and which was announced on Thursday the International Tennis Federation.

Also included was Daniil Medvedevwho will technically compete as “neutral” athlete and will not represent Russia Due to the war in ukraine.

Djokovic (Serbia) and Murray (United Kingdom) have 37 yearswhile Nadal (Spain) He is 38 years old and add several Grand Slam titles. Djokovic has 24 trophies in the major events, but has never won Olympic gold.

Nadal accumulates 22 Grand Slam titlesas well as Olympic gold medals in singles and doubles in 2008 and 2016. He skipped the grass at Wimbledon to focus on the clay of Paris.

Murray, who has three Slam titles, is the only tennis player to have won consecutive titles at the Games. He has said that his intention is to withdraw after the jousts that will be carried out in Roland Garros between July 27 and August 4.

Among women, the list includes the world number one, the Polish Iga Swiatek; number 2, the American Coco Gauff; as well as number 4, the Kazakh Elena Rybakina. The Belarusian Aryna Sabalenka (3) decided not to participate after receiving an invitation as a neutral athlete.

Swiatek has five Grand Slam titles, including four of the French Open. While Gauff and Rybakina each have one. Gauff was included in the U.S. team three years ago, but could not attend after testing positive for COVID-19.

The tournament includes 64 players in the men’s and women’s singles tournaments, as well as 32 teams in doubles. The 16 mixed doubles tickets will be announced on July 24. The draw will take place on July 25.

Among other confirmed players are Carlos Alcaraz — which will dispute doubles with Nadal– World’s number one Jannik Sinner (Italy), the champion of Tokio Alexander Zverev (Germany), the medalist of doubles in 2008 Stan Wawrinka (Swiss), Naomi Osaka (Japan), Bianca Andreescu (Canada) and Caroline Wozniacki (Denmark).

Argentina will go with Sebastian Baez, Francisco Cerúndolo, Mariano Navano and Tomas Martin Etcheverry in the men’s box and Nadia Podoroska and Maria Lourdes Carlé in the feminine.

Chile goes with three representatives: Nicolas Jarry, Alejandro Tabilo and Marcelo Barrios. The Colombian women Camila Osorio managed to qualify to compete in her second Games.


For Latest Updates Follow us on Google News


PREV Tauroemoción says goodbye to Cali with an emotional letter from its CEO to the fans
NEXT Alec Peters on Barcelona’s agenda