Farooq Abdullah To Krishnamachari: Leaders Who Won Lok Sabha Elections Unopposed | See List

Mukesh Dalal, the Bharatiya Janata Party’s candidate from Surat, Gujarat, won the Lok Sabha elections unopposed on Monday after the Returning Officer rejected the Congress’ pick and other candidates withdrew their nomination.

This is the first time that a BJP candidate won uncontested. The last time such a victory took place was when Mohammad Shafi Bhat of the National Conference won the unopposed Srinagar parliamentary seat in Jammu and Kashmir.

Before Dalal, as many as 25 candidates won the general elections unopposed. Let’s take a look at these previous victories:

1 1951 TA Ramalinga Chettiar INC Coimbatore Tamilnadu
2 1951 T Sangana INC Rayagada Phulba Odisha
3 1951 Krishna Charya Joshi INC Yadgir Hyderabad
4 1951 Major Gen MS Himatsinhji INC Pull Saurashtra
5 1951 Anand Chand IND Bilaspur Bilaspur
6 1957 D Satyanarayana Raju INC Rajamundry Andhra Pradesh
7 1957 TN Vishwanath Reddy INC Rajampet Andhra Pradesh
8 1957 Sangam Lakshmi Bai INC Vicarabad Andhra Pradesh
9 1957 Bijoy Chandra Bhagavati INC Darrang Assam
10 1957 Mangrubabu Uike INC Mandla Madhya Pradesh
eleven 1957 T Ganapathy INC Tiruchendur Madras
12 1957 J Siddananjappa H INC Hassan Madras
13 1962 T. T. Krishnamachari INC Tiruchendur Madras
14 1962 Harekrushna Mahtab INC Angle Odisha
fifteen 1962 Manabendra Shah INC Tehri Garhawal Uttar Pradesh
16 1967 KL Rao INC Vijayawada Andhra Pradesh
17 1967 R Brahma INC Kokrajhar Assam
18 1967 MS Qureshi INC Anantnag Jammu and Kashmir
19 1967 K Bakula INC ladakh Jammu and Kashmir
twenty 1967 Chubatoshi NNO Nagaland Nagaland
twenty-one 1971 Padanatha Mohammed Sayeed INC LM and A Islands Laccadive, Minicoy, and Amindivi Islands
22 1977 Rinchin Khandu Khimre INC Arunachal West Arunachal Pradesh
23 1977 Chatra Bahadur Chhetri INC Sikkim Sikkim
24 1980 JKN Srinagar Jammu and Kashmir
25 1989 JKN Srinagar Jammu and Kashmir
26 2024 Mukeshkumar Dalal BJP Surat gujarat

Notably, Dala’s unopposed victory stirred a political controversy, with opposition leaders, including Congress MP Rahul Gandhi, slamming the decision. But other BJP leaders expressed happiness over his win and said that the “first lotus” has bloomed in the nation.

Mukesh Dalal’s win comes just about two weeks before the polling for the third of the seven-phase Lok Sabha elections. All 26 seats of Gujarat will go into polling on May 7.

The first phase of Lok Sabha polls covering 21 states and Union Territories took place on April 19. The second phase polling is set to take place on April 26.

In this general election, around 97 crore people will elect their representatives from 543 constituencies and as per data, a 6 per cent increase has been noted in the registered voters from the 2019 LS polls.

Stay Ahead With all the Lok Sabha Election 2024 Related Real-Time Updates At News18 Website.

Asmita Ravi Shankar

Asmita Ravi Shankar is a News Trainee at News18.com and covers crime, general and day-to-day national news. Her X handle is @asmita_shankar.…Read More

For Latest Updates Follow us on Google News


PREV ‘The Apprentice’, the film that Donald Trump wants to sue for its parody portrayal of the former president
NEXT University of Liverpool to host Tay Day: A Taylor Swift Symposium – News