Order of books to understand William Shakespeare

Order of books to understand William Shakespeare
Order of books to understand William Shakespeare

The playwright played an unparalleled role in Elizabethan theater alongside Christopher Marlowe, Ben Johnson and Thomas Kyd, among others.

His work covers 43 titles and more than 100 sonnets. One of the many actions that are applauded is his way of using words, since the grammatical structure of each of his titles was novel for its time due to its wide variety of vocabularies and neologisms from different areas of England.

Unlike other writers, Shakespeare was a playwright and therefore his works are written to be performed on the stage of a theater.

In this way, understanding Shakespeare is without equal, since you don’t have to understand it, you just have to live it.

Order of books to understand (live) Shakespeare

As we told you, William Shakespeare’s works were designed to be presented in front of an audience, so along with reading his books, it is an important recommendation to go to the theater, or look for the film adaptations that have been made. of them.

The above will help you set the tone of voice, even imagine some gestures on the part of the characters when reading their books.

And as for the order… What a complication! The point is that there is no order to reading Shakespeare. One recommendation is to start with the chronological order of the works by genre according to the year they are believed to have been conceived.

This way, you will have an idea about his style, as well as the emotions, dilemmas and nuances that persevere in the plots of the stories.

Titus Andronicus (1594)

Romeo and Juliet (1595)

Julius Caesar (1599)

Hamlet (1601)

Troilus and Cressida (1602)

Othello (1603-1604)

King Lear (1605-1606)

Macbeth (1606)

Antony and Cleopatra (1606)

Coriolanus (1608)

Helm of Athens (1608)

The Comedy of Errors (1591)

The two gentlemen of Verona (1591-1592)

Love’s Labors Lost (1592)

A Midsummer Night’s Dream (1595-1596)

The Merchant of Venice (1596-1597)

Much Ado About Nothing (1598)

As you like (1599-1600)

The Merry Wives of Windsor (1601)

Twelfth Night (1601-1602)

To a good end there is no bad beginning (1602-1603)

Measure for measure (1604)

Pericles (1607)

Cymbeline (1610)

Winter’s Tale (1610-1611)

The Tempest (1612)

The Taming of the Shrew

Cymbeline (1610)

Winter’s Tale (1609-1611)

The Tempest (1610-1611)

Edward III (1596)

Henry VI

Richard III (1597)

Richard II (1597)

Henry V (1597-1599)

King John (1598)

Henry VIII (1613)

Subscribe here to our Newsletter so you are up to date with our content.

For Latest Updates Follow us on Google News


PREV How to get the surprising book that helps you understand the universe in just 300 pages and that is recommended in bookstores
NEXT The essential books to become a smarter person LaPatilla.com